When wanting to market your business, it can be quite tricky if you don’t already have access to a mailing list or a large, targeted and engaged social media audience.
However, if you have an advertising budget, building a mailing list using Facebook ads can be very easy and very effective.
In order to start building your mailing list, we recommend using Facebook lead ads together with “Leadstunnel”. Leadstunnel is a software that allows you to automatically save people’s name and email in your autoresponder system.
Without using Leadstunnel, Facebook simply creates a spreadsheet for you with all the names and emails collected as a result of the ad, which you then have to upload onto your autoresponder system.
In other words, Leadstunnel facilitates the whole process of adding all your Facebook leads in your autoresponder system, in real time (as soon as people optin) instead of you having to do it all manually.
If you’d like to take your Facebook marketing to the next level, and increase the results you’re getting from your current Facebook marketing efforts by 10, click here to download my FREE Facebook marketing report. Simply enter your name and email and I’ll instantly send you the report.
In order to build your list using Facebook ads and Leadstunnel, you will need the following:
- A Facebook ads account. If you haven’t created one already, login to your Facebook account and go to: https://www.facebook.com/ads/manager/creation and follow the prompts
- A Facebook page
- A leadstunnel account. To open one, go to: http://leadstunnel.com
- Integrating your Facebook account and your autoresponder system with leadstunnel. You will only need to do it once.
- An autoresponder system (aweber, getresponse, mailchimp, infusionsoft, etc…)
- Follow up emails (about 3 follow up emails scheduled in your autoresponder system). These emails should be sent a few days apart from each other in order to build the relationship further with your subscribers and build their trust. For example, one sent right after the person has entered their details, the second one a day after and the third one, another few days after. The purpose of these emails is to build excitement about your business, provide value to your subscribers so they’re more likely to buy when you make offers and train them to open your emails and look forward to them.
- A privacy policy web page
- A free offer
Once you have ensured you have all the items above, you’re ready to use Facebook lead ads to build your list!
Simply go to your Facebook account and click on the drop down menu on the top right hand side of Facebook’s dashboard. Then, click on “create ads”.
Then, choose as a “campaign objective: “lead generation” and name your campaign. Your campaign is like a folder in which all your Facebook ads will be.
You can name your campaign according to the name of your free offer. For example “lead generation gluten free recipe book offer”.
Then, choose the Facebook page you want the lead ads to be displayed from. Then, choose your target audience, according to their age, gender, location and language.
Then, decide on your budget, and how long you want to run the lead ads for. We usually invest a few thousand dollars to market a lead generation campaign. However, you are free to choose how much or how little you want to invest and for how long.
The next step is creating your actual Facebook lead ads. You have the option to have carousel images (a minimum of three images that play one after another like a short video), a single image, a video or a slideshow. We usually either upload a video about our offer or a single image that is attention-grabbing and relevant to the offer.
Then, you will be asked to write a headline, which features below your image or video, and also write text, which features above your image or video, and usually describes further what your ad is about and why people should click on the call-to-action.
As for the call-to-action button, choose from the options in the drop down menu that makes the most sense based on your offer.
Then, add the link of your landing page.
For your “display link” simply put your domain name (please note, this link is not clickable, it is only for display).
Next, click on “+new form”.
When you do, it will ask you to create your “welcome screen”. The “welcome screen” is the box that appears straight after people have clicked on your call-to-action in your lead ads.
If you’d like to take your Facebook marketing to the next level, and increase the results you’re getting from your current Facebook marketing efforts by 10, click here to download my FREE Facebook marketing report. Simply enter your name and email and I’ll instantly send you the report.
Simply add a headline (the title of your offer) and bullet points (what people will get as a result of submitting their contact details). As for the button, write something along the lines of “Access now”.
Then, under “questions”, choose to collect people’s name and email address. Then, add the link of your privacy policy, and the text for your privacy policy which should simply be “Privacy Policy”.
For the “thank you screen”, simply put the thank you page of your optin page (in other words, the page people go to, after they have submitted their contact details).
Don’t forget to name your Facebook lead form “the name of this specific campaign”, as to not get confused with future campaigns.
Then, click on “save” and “finish” and click on “place order”.
The final step is logging in to your leadstunnel.net account and clicking on “add a campaign”.
Then, name your campaign accordingly, select your Facebook page, click on “update form” and then select your Facebook lead form you just created previously.
Next, under “autoresponder integration”, select your email marketing software (which should be displayed if you already integrated your email marketing software with your Leadstunnel account) and under “autoresponder list”, select the autoresponder campaign you have created in your email marketing software (where the Facebook leads will be saved under and from which the email follow-ups will be sent).
Then, click on “save” and you’re all good to go!
To ensure the Facebook lead ads have been set up properly and there are no mistakes, go back to your Facebook advertising console, and click on the ad you have just created. Then click on “preview” to see what the ad looks like.
Then, click on “view in newsfeed” right below. You’ll then be able to check how your ad appears in people’s Facebook newsfeed, and click on the call-to-action and fill in the Facebook lead form to experience the whole funnel.
Although leadstunnel and Facebook will give you stats about your Facebook leads campaign, for accuracy, it is best to check your stats through your email marketing software, as the stats will be 100% accurate compared to leadstunnel and Facebook.
To then calculate your “cost per lead”, simply take the amount you spent on advertising and divide it by the number of Facebook leads you got. For example, should you have spent $500 and got 50 leads, your cost per lead (CPL) is $10.
If you’d like to take your Facebook marketing to the next level, and increase the results you’re getting from your current Facebook marketing efforts by 10, click here to download my FREE Facebook marketing report. Simply enter your name and email and I’ll instantly send you the report.
Remember to also leave a comment below with what else you’d like to learn and subscribe to our YouTube channel and I’ll keep the videos coming.
About the Author
Corinna Essa is known internationally as the go-to person when it comes to social media marketing.
Corinna owns a social media marketing company helping businesses around the world leverage the power of social media without doing any of the legwork. Her company has been featured in many media outlets including Sky Business news, Working Women magazine, Ymagazine, Tasmanian Times, Channel 7 and 101fm.
Corinna is also the author of 2 bestselling books “Money On Demand – The 16 Fastest Ways to Becoming a Millionaire Online” and “Reach: The SECRETS to converting your social media audience into your network marketing downline fast”
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